Skip to content
Mets' Jacob deGrom and Rays' Blake Snell Win MLB Cy Young Awards

Mets' Jacob deGrom and Rays' Blake Snell Win MLB Cy Young Awards

MLB recently announced the winners of the AL & NL Cy Young Award with both coming from teams that failed to make the postseason.

In the NL, there was no other pitcher that dominated the opposition quite like New York Mets ace Jacob deGrom. The right-hander registered 269 strikeouts over the course of 217 innings with a minuscule 1.70 ERA. DeGrom's 10 wins were the fewest for a Cy Young Award winner ever. That includes lower wins than two relievers who won the prestigious award (Mike Marshall & Sparky Lyle). The Mets star received 29 first-place votes out of a possible 30.

Blake Snell of the Tampa Bay Rays took home the Cy Young Award in the American League with 21 wins and 221 strikeouts in just 180 2/3 innings pitched. Snell also had a sub-2.00 ERA at 1.89 for the season. Snell’s 180 2/3 IP were the fewest for a Cy Young Award-winning starting pitcher in a full season. Snell became the second Rays player to win the award, with former Rays ace David Price taking home the Cy Young in 2012. The Houston Astros' Justin Verlander became the fourth pitcher in MLB history to be a runner-up in Cy Young Award voting.


Interested in owning some gear signed by these Cy Young Award winners? Check out this Jacob deGrom autographed jersey or try your luck at our Platinum MLB Licensed Jersey Mystery Box.


(📸 - Tampa Bay Rays FB)

Previous article NFL Top 100: 100 - 50 Revisited

Leave a comment

Comments must be approved before appearing

* Required fields